Saturday, April 10, 2010

Wow... Amazing!

I forgot about this cool video; absolutely amazing how these people put this together! :)

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Webquest Done!!

Okay, so I am a perfectionist as I said, and it was really bothering me that I only had a few little things to fix on this webquest, so..... I came to the school and fixed them so I can hand this page in and be done with it. Otherwise, I would still find something wrong with it and continue to fix all the little things wrong with it. So.... here it is. I just wanted to say thank you to Roxanne, I don't know how she put up with me asking her all these little questions to get this thing done, but she did. So thanks buddy! :)

http://homepage.usask.ca/~mea675/index.html

Almost Done!

Okay, so I have been working on this Webquest for Jay's class for, it feels like forever, now and I am almost done. I was going to hand it in right now, but I looked through it and there are still a few things that I have to fix, which irritates me a little cuz I thought that I was done, but that's okay. This is what I get for being a perfectionist. So, it will have to wait till another day because now I have to focus on finishing this paper for this class, as well as study for the final in it tomorrow.

I really hope this final isn't going to be too hard. I really wanted to do well in this class because it was one of my favourite classes beside my vball coaching class.

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Maybe a Change in Plans

Okay, so this weekend on Easter Sunday Travis and I went to the Station Place for brunch. You know, for the 6 years I have lived here I have never been in that restaurant before. The food was actually quite good, I was impressed for a brunch.

I also ran into my principal from Murray. We got talking and I told him how I had phone Stoon Public to check on my application, and how the lady was incredibly rude, and he couldn't believe it. He then told me to send him directly my resume because they will be doing their hiring right away for the fall, and he might be able to do something for me. I couldn't believe it, after how scared I was because I didn't get an interview and the crap I went through with the lady at Stoon Public, I might have an opportunity to get a job here after all. What a change this was!

I just feel bad because Karen is supposed to move into our house and now I have to tell her that she can only move in for the summer and then she might have to find another place. I hope she is okay with that! :{

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Wow....

Okay, so I just posted that these idiots in my basement were finally gone today. Well, I can't believe how psycho they are. Travis and I went to the bank to give them what was left of their damage deposit, after we had to take so much money away because they broke and wrecked a bunch of stuff, and the guy was nutty. He started saying how he didn't like living here or dealing with me because I was a b****. I was rude to him, and got mad at him for so much that he couldn't live there anymore and that's why he was moving out. Well, the real reason he isn't living there anymore is because we kicked him out. He was such a bad tennent. He would lie about everything, and never pay his rent on time, we should have evicted him and his gf a long time ago. He even lied to Karen when she came and looked at my place to rent it when I leave to go back to Alberta. What an idiot.

Travis and I went out for dinner after these people were gone, and when we just got home he had left this psycho message on our phone explaining why he had to move out again. I can't believe what an idiot he is. I blocked his and his gf's numbers and hopefully I will never have to deal with them again because if I do I will be calling the police!

THEY ARE GONE!!!

My roomates have finally moved out! It only took them until 7:45pm the next day after they were supposed to be out to finally get out, but they are gone! This is the happiest day of the semester. These people were honestly the worst people to live with. They were dirty, and I mean really dirty people; they were loud; obnoxious; and the guy even tried to hit me one day because I got mad at him for not locking our door at night and for not picking up his stuff after I had repeatedly asked him nicely to do these things. I just am so glad they are gone, what a relief!

Sunday, March 28, 2010

For Sure This Time

I had posted before that my boyfriend was coming out before, well something came up and he never came out that weekend, but he is for sure coming out in 2 days. He has a flight, and he is going to be here to make sure that these people have moved out of our basement for good, and don't do anything stupid to me.

I can't wait for him to get here!

Friday, March 26, 2010

Roomates

I just wanted to post that I am soooo excited that I only have exactly 5 more days with the idiots in my basement! The count down is on!!

Monday, March 22, 2010

The Great Debate

Okay, so today we had our debate in KIN Ethics. We got chosen for the con argument for the topic: "should instant replay be used to make decision in sport?" I had a feeling that we were going to get this topic. Our group did a lot of research on this particular side because we were scared of getting this side and topic and not being able to defend our point with relevant and appropriate information. Well, we lost. I don't really care, but I do because we have judges and these judeges are supposed to make a decision based on the comments that were made and the evidence that was presented in each of our speeches. Well, our judges had their minds made up at the very beginning that they were going to vote for the affirmative side. After the debate is over the judges have to say who they believe won the debate and why, well they all used information that was not even brought up by either of our groups, and voted the affirmative to win. I was a little bit choked cuz we worked really hard, and I honestly believe that we had better arguments and we countered the affirmatives case better, but whatever it's over I guess!

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Excited!

I am really excited because my boyfriend is coming out here in a few days. I haven't seen him in a long time, he missed my grad banquet because he had to work, so I'm really excited that he is coming out here to spend some time with me!

I don't really have time to spend with him, but that's okay I will make time I guess! :)

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

The Phone Call

So, I called Stoon Public to see what was going on with my application because Amber called the other day because she hadn't got an interview with this school division either. She found out that something had happened with her application and was offered an interview the next day. So, thinking that maybe that same thing happened to me I called the school division as well. Well, I couldn't believe it the lady on the phone was sooo rude! She wouldn't let me finish my sentences, she basically called me a liar because I had told her about how my friends from my KIN/ED program had been getting interviews, and she said that they did not interview that many people. Then when I finally got out that I wanted her to check my application, she responded with "yes, it's here, and they've reviewed it, but you weren't what they wanted, that's why you didn't get an interview!" Now, reading that sentence, it may not sound that bad, but add a tone to it and you've got her reaction towards me.

So my decision is made, I'm going back to Strathmore to sub, or hopefully get a position, cuz I don't want to work for a school division that doesn't think I'm good enough for their schools!

Monday, March 15, 2010

Finding the Evidence

I am starting to realize that I really like my EADM class. I really like finding evidence to prove my point right, and especially prove someone wrong. I am preparing for a debate in my KIN ethics class right now for the topics: "should instant replay be used to make decisions in sport? and should there be a sales tax on high fat,caloric, and salt foods?" I am really enjoying finding information about these topics to win our debate next week.

It was really nice to write about something that wasn't that negative today! :)

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Another Era Coming to an End...

Yesterday was our Education Grad Banquet. I thought it was a pretty good time. The food was good, everyone looked so nice in all their fancy dresses and suits. It was actually really nice to see everyone out and dressed up. Most of my friends are like me, and we don't dress to impress when we come to school. I'm always either in a hat, or have my hair pulled up in a pony tail because, honestly I'm too lazy to do anything else to it. So it was nice to see others, who do this daily routine as well, dress so nice.

I thought the speeches were really well done too. I really liked Kyle as our main speaker. I thought he was hilarious. Yes, granted some of his words were a little over the top, and I can guarantee they will be frowned upon later by some of the Education faculty, but he was just honest. What was our tuition in first semester really going towards? Not our college that's for sure. And the PGG comment was awesome! But with all honesty, the speech that hit me the most was my professor Jay Wilson's speech. For once in a very long time, I actually sat back and thought about my life at University. I don't know if I have ever actually thought about Uni. in that way before.

It took me a lot to get to where I am today..... alot! Lots of my friends are so excited to be done with all this school stuff, and can't wait to get out and get a job, and yes so do I, but after Jay's speech I thought about what I would be missing. I will no longer be able to blame stuff on, "oh I'm just a student" anymore. I will have to start paying back my quite large student loan, not looking forward to that by the way! But mostly I won't be able to walk down the halls of the University anymore as a student, and maybe never again, or at least for a long time.

You see, it seems like every one of my friends have been getting job interviews whether they are in my KIN college or not. Granted, I know that I only applied here to Saskatoon Public, and I have mostly been waiting for certain positions to open up at home in Strathmore Alberta. So I'm pretty positive I won't be here next year, so I don't know if I'm ready to leave. I came here because it was cheaper to live, but mostly to start my own life. At home, 6 years ago when I came out here my dad was really sick, and moving out here was one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make, but I did it for me. I wanted to get away from everything bad in my life and just be happy for once, so my boyfriend and I moved to Stoon. And, while some people hate this place, like I did for a very long time, which is weird because I kept coming back for some strange reason, I grew to love it here. It was here that I worked harded then I ever have in my life to get what I have dreamed about since I was little, a Uni degree, and to become a teacher. I had to overcome so many obstacles to get to where I am, so I think that I appreciate school a little more than some people. The actual day of convocation will be amazing, and that is where, I think, all of these thoughts will kick in.

I have met so many amazing people here, and I know that there is always email or facebook, but honestly I am really going to miss walking down those Uni halls, hearing the sounds of students talking about their drunken weekends, the intellectual conversations from all different areas of study, the weights dropping to the floor in the gym, and just the little things that I took forgranted for 6 years that will no longer be a part of my life. I know I will move on and things will go the way they are supposed to for me. But... I will truly miss these days, weeks, months, and endless hours studying here at the U of S because it was here that I grew into the person that I am today, and if it wasn't for all of these amazing professors, and people that I have met here, I don't think that I would have been able to make it through my Uni life as good as what I have.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Proposal for Webquest

1. This webquest is designed for a Wellness 10 Physical Education class. The skills needed when coming into this assignment include some computer skills, which are minimal because I will be discussing this assignment with the students before they begin. They should also have some knowledge of overall health and wellness, which they will have learned from previous physical education classes.


2. Address: http://www.sasked.gov.sk.ca/docs/wellness/index.html

-Subject: Wellness 10 Physical Education

-Topics: Nutrition, physical activity, healthy eating, personal wellness, goal setting


3. Concept map:

https://homepage.usask.ca/cgi-bin/files/Health.pdf

Concept Map

4. Higher order thinking questions:

-How do you feel your partner’s lifestyle will affect him/her in the future (10-20 years from now)?

-How do you feel your lifestyle will affect you in the future?

-Do you consider yourself/your partner to be a healthy individual? If so, why or why not.


5. This topic is important to the students because many individuals overlook their health. Without your health then you cannot perform daily activities, as well as you won’t be able to perform well in school. This is proven in the Supersize Me movie clips that I will add as links for the students to view. A healthy body equals a healthy mind. This means health should be looked at as an overall perspective including the amount of water you consume in a day, the amount of physical activity you participate in, as well as what you eat. Students need to be aware of these factors if they want to live healthy active lifestyles, and be successful in their endeavors. They should be looking at the future consequences of the choices they are making today related to the food they eat and the activities they choose to participate in.


6.Teaching Activities:

-Application: Students are to prepare a final paper analyzing their personal and a partner’s results after monitoring 1 week of their physical activity and their nutritional habits.

-Students should record their results on the worksheets (daily food record, nutrition, and fitness goals sheets) every day for 7 days.

-Students should use the links to the energy calculators to help them analyze their activity for the 7 days.

-Students should hand in their assignment to the hand-in folder online when they are completed the webquest.


7. Resources:

-daily food record sheets,

-daily nutrition goal sheets,

-daily fitness goal sheets (for you and for your partner),

-a computer with the internet.



8. Sample sites:

http://www.teenhealthandwellness.com/ - A website on teen health and wellness, looking at information on obesity, nutrition, and fitness.

http://kidshealth.org/teen/ - A website for teens, kids, and their parents specifically relating to health and fitness and issues regarding questions they may have growing up.

http://www.sasked.gov.sk.ca/docs/wellness/index.html - Wellness 10 curriculum guide.

http://www.caloriescount.com/FoodDiary.aspx - An example of a food dairy with a calorie counter.

http://ontario.teachnutrition.org/home.aspx - Lesson plans, and activities relating to health and nutrition.

http://www.caloriecontrol.org/articleandvideo/journal-of-food-science-study-finds-people-consuming-fewer-calories-have-better-qual - Video on how people who consume less calories have a better quality of living.

http://nat.illinois.edu/ - This is the website to the energy calculators that will be used throughout the assignment.

Supersize Me Movie Sections:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfBc-Rla0uI - part 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QIWH0wXJzU&feature=fvw - part 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-OEg082D8s&NR=1 - part 6

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0gWjCZ1xv8s&NR=1 - part 10


9. Evaluation: Is mostly based on if students can follow the directions and complete all the steps to this webquest, as well how they can analyze the results from their findings; comparing their personal results with a partner’s results.

Monday, March 8, 2010

Booo.... Group Projects! :(

Oh my gosh, I feel like when ever I come to blog it's because I have to rant about something, and it always seems to be about school. School is my whole life right now, and yes in a way it needs to be so I can get done, but seriously all of these group assignments are ridiculous.

I am in this group for my KIN Ethics class and honestly I thought that it was supposed to be a 400 level class, meaning just for 4th year students, students who are supposed to be mature. Well, not my group! We have this paper due using this 7 step model from Malloy and it is taking forever. I am apparently the only one who is doing any work on this project and it's stupid. The one girl did absolutely nothing for the project at all, my other group member and I sent her emails, text messages, and everything and she has done a thing. On Monday a group presented and apparently had the same topic as us, which wasn't supposed to happen. I spoke to the professor, and he wanted all of this evidence that this girl wasn't participating in the group, and it was going to be such as hassle, so I just suggested to my group to re-due this 30 page paper on a different topic, so we didn't have to present the same information as the last group, and look dumb while presenting. Well, now that's what we are going to do, but we only have a week to finish this instead of a month. I just hope that this goes better this time.

I'm tired of being nice to people and doing other people's work! Grrr.... :(

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Final Assignment

I have chosen to complete a webquest for a nutrition assignment that could be used in a PE program.

Sunday, February 28, 2010

Last Gold!

I couldn't believe it. The Canada vs. US game today was unreal! I thought Canada had the gold, and then..... the last 24 seconds they tied. What an unreal comeback for the American's.
Then in overtime we took the gold! I couldn't believe it. What an amazing Olympics! Not only to lead the medal count of gold medals, and then to break the record at the Winter Olympic Games for the most gold medals on home soil that is incredible! I can't believe the pride and the spirit I saw in Canadians throughout these Olympics. It makes me really proud and happy to be part of a country like this!

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

School Frustrations

This break I really got nothing accomplished. I was completely exhausted from my week before because I wrote 3 midterms in 24 hours. I should have deferred one, but I always think that I can do everything at once with no help. I haven't gotten them back yet, but I can guarantee that the last one is a write-off. I began writing information from my first and second midterms, so basically I probably failed that test. It sort of ticks me off though because this class I have worked extremely hard in all term, and then to completely bomb the midterm is ridiculous. Now I can see how students feel when they have 3 or 4 tests a day. I have never been good a writing tests because I am more of a practical applicator, but still.... I guess I'm a little annoyed and frustrated because I've come back from internship, and I am treated like a child; someone who doesn't have anything else better to do than study and stress out for 3 midterms. I mean I understand that I am a student again, but I think that the College could work a little more to help me get a job, something that is going to be my future. I think that I am just a little cranky about school right now because I really wish I was working more towards the things I learned from my internship instead of moving backwards.

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Research Paper Topic

For my reseach paper, I will be discussing the idea of cybersex, and how it can become a "teachable moment" during class time.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

I edited the Canadian portion to Excercise Trends on Wikipedia.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exercise_trends#Canada

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Fish Fun!

My fish are the coolest thing ever!!! lol! :)

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

My Blog Title

My Abyss of thoughts.... Thanks Michelle for the great name, still don't know if I know what it means, but that's okay. :)